A Time To Write

Well, I’ve completed my course work for a Masters in Education degree. All that’s left now is to create around 150 pages of a definitive work and defend it successfully.

I have a few ideas on what my thesis will be, but wondered what Google would give me if I searched for “how to write a good masters thesis”. According to Sparrowpapers.com, “the thesis is the single most significant studley achievement of your graduate degree. It is a formalized expression of the fact that you have made a significant and original contribution to knowledge”. Umm, studley?

According to ifsh.de, “when you have a choice about the topic or central question of your work, ask yourself which topic, which question really interests you – what gets you excited.” I’m guessing education is too broad an answer to that question. Seriously, though, I am very much interested in a form of research called policy review. This is where current policies on a particular educational aspect are reviewed and analyzed in the thesis.

According to one Carleton website, “your thesis must show two important things: (a) you have identified a worthwhile problem or question which has not been previously answered, and (b) you have solved the problem or answered the question”. Ironically, my most recent professor would have vehemently disagreed with this Carleton University professor, in that the problem does not necessarily have to be solved or answered however it MUST be explored in greater depth than previously done.

So, if you could pick one education topic that would impact current and future educators to research and write about, what would it be? I’ll provide you with regular updates as I begin my journey of establishing my “worthwhile question” to research and write on. As my most recent professor stated, “your thesis will define you for the rest of your life. Choose carefully.” Yes, ma’am!

About tjthiessen

explorer, administrator, consultant, student, leader
This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Time To Write

  1. Interesting comments regarding a Thesis. I finished my thesis last year and graduated in May of 2012. I never thought to acutally research a Thesis itself. What is interesting is that for my program, I would agree with your professor more. I felt we had to take the information we explored over the course work and then pin point an area and dive-in to uncover something more detailed or new. I specifically fine tuned a theory and why the theory should be the forefront of mobile learning. I also tweaked the said theory by explaining its weakness and how it can be made stronger in practice. It worked for me!

    • tjthiessen says:

      My googling of the word thesis was more in jest. I am rolling around the idea of analyzing current education policy and pointing out gaps/weaknesses that I experienced as both a student and a school leader…with solutions offered, of course.

Comments are closed.